Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Corporation for the Promotion of Rifle Practice and Firearms Safety, Inc.


The National Board for the Promotion of Rifle Practice (NBPRP), an advisory board to the Secretary of the Army, which was created in 1903, was disestablished by The National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 1996 (TITLE XVI) and replaced by the CPRPFS.  The initial board was appointed by the Secretary of the Army and is responsible to develop all policies and procedures for the implementation of all aspects of the CMP.


Judith Legerski (Chairman) has held elective office, served the Secretary of the Defense as a member of the Defense Advisory Committee for Women in the Military, chairs the Juvenile Drug Court Board in her community, and is a Civilian Aide Emeritus to the Secretary of the Army.


Charles Maddox (Chairman Emeritus) is a retired Florida police officer and a former President of a major organization that represents law enforcement officers. He is a Civilian Aide Emeritus to the Secretary of the Army.


E. C. (Cris) Stone (Vice Chairman) has served as a Director, a Chief Credit Officer and a consultant for multibillion dollar financial institutions. While a West Point Cadet, he shot in the All Army Matches at Camp Perry. Mr. Stone was commissioned in the Infantry and completed Army Airborne, Ranger and Jungle Schools. He served in Vietnam and Iran with awards for service and valor in combat. He has written for Infantry Magazine about small arms safety training. He has an MBA from the University of Virginia and served for many years as a member of the Board of Directors of The Association of Graduates of West Point. He currently serves on the USA Shooting Board of Directors.


Harry A. Sieben Jr., (Secretary) is president of a major personal injury law firm, former Speaker of the Minnesota House of Representatives and Major General (Ret.) in the Minnesota National Guard. He is a Civilian Aide to the Secretary of the Army.


Jon N. Bengtson (Treasurer) is a founder and Chairman of the Board of Pinyon Technologies, a local smart antenna technology company. Mr. Bengtson has served as Chairman of the Board of Altair Nanotechnologies (ALTI), a public technology company since June 2004, and has served in senior executive positions with Harrahs, International Game Technology, The Sands Regent Hotel Casino (SNDS) and Radica Games Limited (RADA). Mr. Bengtson also served as the Nevada Civilian Aide to the Secretary of the Army from 1991until his retirement in 2005. Mr. Bengtson has served on numerous local charity boards including Family Counseling Services of Northern Nevada, the Children’s Cabinet, Partners in Education, Step 2 and others. Mr. Bengtson is married with three grown children and eight grandchildren. He holds a bachelors degree in finance and a master of Business Administration degree from The University of Nevada, Reno.


Allan Cors is a public affairs consultant in Washington, DC. He is a former member of the NBPRP and holder of the Distinguished Rifleman Badge, the President’s Hundred Tabs and Elihu Root medals. From 1966 through 2007, he was a firing member of Virginia State National Matches highpower rifle teams that won many national civilian championships. He is the Founder and Chairman of the National Museum of Americans in Wartime.


Dr. Carolyn Hines is the president of a C. W. HINES & Associates, Inc., an international firm based in White Stone, Virginia, specializing in leadership and organizational development. Carolyn is the co-author of What to Say and How to Say It-72 Courageous Conversations for the Workplace featured on Lifetime TV. Dr. Hines served for six years as the Civilian Aide to the Secretary of the Army for the Commonwealth of Virginia. She is a recipient of the Outstanding Civilian Service Medal from the Department of the Army. She chairs the ROTC Scholarship Boards for the Civilian Marksmanship Program.


Joseph R. Inge retired from the United States Army in 2007 as a Lieutenant General. He has broad experience in homeland security and homeland defense. He currently serves as a private consultant with a diverse portfolio that includes support to industry, government, and the military.


Oscar Mahlon Love is a retired Executive Vice President and Director of the largest bank in New Mexico. He is a former Commissioner of the New Mexico State Police and graduate of their Academy. Mr. Love is also a graduate and former Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Colorado Regional Graduate School of Banking. He is a former Chairman of the Albuquerque Public Safety Commission which entails fire, police and corrections. He is a former Commissioner of the New Mexico State Fair.  Mr. Love is very involved with youth-oriented activities. He is a Civilian Aide Senior to the Secretary of the Army and has served on many governmental and private boards.


Orest Michaels is a retired Army logistician and past Division Chief of the Defense Depot Anniston Weapons Division. He was a past administrative officer of the Corporation between 1997-2014.



Joel B. “J.B.” Hudson The Corporation’s Governmental Affairs Consultant, was the Administrative Assistant to the Secretary of the Army until he retired after 42 years of Government Service.
Denny Lord The Corporation’s Special Projects Officer, is a retired Brigadier General in the Minnesota National Guard.